Let’s go tropical!

I have been on one cruise in my travels.  I was never much of a fan of the idea, instead preferring resorts.  But, truth be told, if I’m traveling, the vehicle I use is not to most important thing.  On this cruise, that my travel buddy Joann talked me into, I was going to give it a try.  We were taking the Turner Classics Movie cruise.  They have one every year and Joann had been on one the previous year.  The trip was to leave Miami, stop in Grand Cayman and Cozumel, Mexico.  We met up in Miami and spent the night at this lovely hotel.  We spent several hours by the pool, marveling at how nice it was to sit outside at the end of January.  Once on-board, we had this fantastic room, with butler service!  A first for me.  The room had floor to ceiling windows, that I appreciated right from the start.  We opened our bottle of champagne and reveled in our good fortune to be sitting on the Celebrity Constellation.  We then went up to the top deck where there was a welcome/kick off party.  Some of the memorable guests aboard were Mickey Rooney, Debbie Reynolds and Alex Trebek.  I was later able to shake hands with Mr. Trebek and speak with him briefly.  I am enough of a nerd to think that was a really cool thing!  For the days at sea during the trip, we soaked up the sun, swam, visited the spa and explored the ship. There also were plenty of old movies on the big screen.  For example, I was able to see “Singin’ in the Rain.”  one night there was even a Roaring Twenties party that I dressed as a Flapper girl and got finger waves in my hair for.  That was a lot of fun!  Once we got to Grand Cayman, Joann and I took a tour to Stingray City, where we swam with stingrays and even took pictures of us petting one.  Later that day, we swam and played with dolphins, which had been a lifelong dream for me.  Our dolphin was named Copernicus.  We also tried conch fritters for the first time.  Once back on board, we headed to Cozumel, where we took a ferry to Playa del Carmen and then on a bus to see the Mayan ruins at Tulum.  That was amazing to see.  Then, we were back on board and headed back to Miami.

 

dsc_9346

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

mom-camera-cruise-107

Leave a Reply

