Kindness…

It’s that time of year as they say.  The time for kindness and giving.  Time to forget old wrongs, look forward to the dawning of a new year, time to rekindle relationships that may need nurturing.  It has always interested me how people only do those acts during the holidays.  As fragile and short as life is, I say we embrace all these things and practice them year round.  As a healthcare worker, death is constantly around me.  In fact, as I write this, I just found out a patient that I had several interactions with last week passed away today.  To be honest, some affect me more than others.  It’s not fair that I say that because each life I touch matters to me, but it’s the truth.  However, back to my original point.  I think it’s important to remember that kindness should be practiced on a constant basis.  It’s wonderful for people to donate time and money to charities during the holidays-please don’t stop!  But please remember that people are still hungry in April, animals still need food at the shelter where they live in May.  The person behind you in line at the store may be using their last $10 on their groceries.  I try very hard to be mindful of this.  I know that people (including myself) can and do get wrapped up in their own lives and certainly everyone has stress, but I just feel like kindness is so much easier and better to give.  I was told this week that I was a generous person and my response was that I have more than some people do and I should do what I can to help others.  It doesn’t have to translate to money related things-give someone a genuine smile, ask how they are and truly listen to them, make someone feel special-it might have surprising results.

Leave a Reply

