Good old Maine

I have been working in a small community at the very tip of Maine.  It’s in what us southern Mainers call “the county” and I have discovered that people here call where I’m from in Maine, “downstate.”  I find it amusing that we as Mainers have all these funny little terms for things and I don’t tend to notice them until I am trying to explain to someone from out of state.  I hear all kinds of jokes and assumptions from people that are not from here; and even though there may be a grain of truth in them, most of the time I just brush it off.  Some of us say “ayuh” as yes.  Most of us use wicked good; and I can assure you that I have been using that expression since I was little.  Mainers are a hard bunch to impress and I can assure you that unless you were born in this state, no matter how long you have lived here, you will always be “from away.”  We are proud, hard working, down to earth people for the most part that cherish our natural landscape and resources.  I personally love being a coastal girl; growing up on sailboats and ferry boats.  I am finding that as I get older, I can appreciate the part of Maine that has the mountains and vast wilderness.  And now that I have had a lot of time to live in other places, I can truly appreciate my home for what it is.  I get excited when people want to talk about Maine and tell me how much they love it here or would like to visit.  This current assignment is my first time ever spending more than a day in northern Maine.  It’s not all that different to me….small town with community pride.  I can get on board with that.

Leave a Reply

